The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie



Cover of this title
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
Alan Bradley

This story is the kick-off novel to the Flavia de Luce Mystery Series set in 1950, England. Flavia is an 11-year-old with an odd knack for chemistry. Life at a country manor can be boring, but her older sisters teasing her gives Flavia the perfect opportunity to plot her revenge. This plan is derailed however, when a dead bird turns up at their doorstep, followed closely by a dead body. And so Flavia begins her investigation; little does she know: This is only the first of many mysteries she will have to solve.

· · 2009

Critical edition

Bradley, Alan. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Orion, 2010. 384 pp., ISBN 9780752883212

Jump to further sections

In favour of this entry

  • Award-winning
  • Beyond the US and the UK
  • Students can identify with the text
  • User suggestion

Adapted as

  • Audiobook