German | English

dokinfo

Excursion to Prague . . .

Enjoy with Doktoranden Initiative Team in Prague 24th - 26th of April-2009

The professors of the Prague Karl’s University went to Leipzig in 1409 and founded there a new University – the Leipzig University (Alma mater lipsiensis). This year we are celebrating the 600th anniversary of the University and want to see its origins. That’s why we decided to present the PhD students the excursion to Prague. 

Prague is the capital of the Czech Republic and since 1992 its downtown area belongs to the UNESCO cultural heritage. It is called “golden city” and also “the city of hundred towers” since the 19th century. The architecture of Prague is versatile, with Romanic and Gothic buildings, palaces from the Renaissance and Baroque as well as a number of churches and romantic alleys. The most well-known places in Prague are the Prague Castle with the St. Vitus Cathedral, Karl’s bridge, Jewish Quarter and the Ancient City Ring Road with the Teyn Church, City Hall and the astronomic clock. In the evening we are going to visit “Laterna Magika”, the theatre with movies, light, music, ballet and pantomime. We would like to undertake a trip through time and space with you. 

In addition to Prague we are going to one more town: Kutná Hora (German: Kuttenberg) founded in the 12th century. This town is situated about 60 km to the East from Prague and also belongs to the UNESCO cultural heritage. We will have free time during the excursion so that you can see other places of interest, for instant, the unique St. Barbara’s Church, Sedlec Ossuary and the Italian Court. 

On the way back on Sunday we will see the castle Karlstejn. It was founded as a treasury for imperial regalia of the Holy Roman Empire and the great collection of relics of Charles IV. 

Out-of-pocket expenses total 50,00 Euros (whole amount: EUR 200 per one person). Don’t forget to take Czech Koruny for minor things with you! 

The PhD students must take their passports with them. Please, clarify whether you need a visa for the trip and apply for it, if necessary. 

Registration and payment: 

31.03.2009 Goethestraße 6, Room 402 16.00-18.00 
02.04.2009 Tarostraße 14, office on the ground floor 19.00-20.30 

We are glad to have a good trip together! 

Your Doktorandeninitiative


Prague

German | English

dokinfo

Exkursion nach Prague . . .

Genießt mit dem Doktorandeninitiative-Team in Prag, 24. bis  26. April 2009 ...

Im Jahr 1409 wanderten Professoren der Prager Karl Universität nach Leipzig aus und gründeten hier eine neue Universität – Die Universität Leipzig (Alma mater lipsiensis). Dieses Jahr feiern wir ihr 600-jähriges Jubiläum und wollen ihren Ursprung besuchen. Deswegen schenken wir den Doktoranden einen Ausflug nach Prag. 

Prag ist die Hauptstadt der Tschechischen Republik, und seit 1992 zählt ihr historisches Zentrum zum UNESCO-Welterbe. Sie wird die „Goldene Stadt“ und seit Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts auch die „Stadt der hundert Türme“ genannt. Die Architektur Prags ist sehr vielfältig mit romanischen und gotischen Häusern, Palais aus der Renaissance und dem Barock sowie zahlreichen Kirchen und romantischen Gassen. Einige der bekanntesten Orte in Prag sind die Prager Burg mit dem Veitsdom, die Karlsbrücke, das Judenviertel und der Altstädter Ring mit Teynkirche, Rathaus und der astronomischen Uhr. An einem Abend besuchen wir das „Laterna Magika“ - ein Theater mit Film, Licht, Musik, Ballett und Pantomime. Wir möchten mit Euch eine Zeitreise in die Geschichte und Kultur von Prag unternehmen. 

Außer Prag besuchen wir eine andere Stadt: Kutná Hora (auf Deutsch Kuttenberg), die im 12. Jahrhundert gegründet wurde. Diese Stadt liegt ungefähr 60 km östlich von Prag und ist auch ein Bestandteil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes. Während des Ausflugs haben wir auch Zeit zur freien Verfügung, in der Ihr ein paar Sehenswürdigkeiten, zum Beispiel den einzigartigen Dom der Heiligen Barbara, das Sedletz-Ossarium und den Italienischen Hof besichtigen könnt. 

Auf der Rückfahrt am Sonntag besuchen wir die Burg Karlstejn. Sie wurde als Schatzkammer der Reichskleinodien des Heiligen Römischen Reiches und der gewaltigen Reliquiensammlung Karls IV. angelegt. 

Die Selbstbeteiligung beträgt 50,00 Euro (Gesamtbetrag: 200 EUR). Vergesst bitte nicht, nicht nur Euro, sondern auch tschechische Kronen für Kleinigkeiten mitzubringen! 

Die Doktoranden müssen ihren Reisepass dabei haben. Findet bitte heraus, ob ihr außerdem ein Visum für die Einreise benötigt und bringt es für die Reise mit. 

Anmeldung und Bezahlung: 

31.03.2009 Goethestraße 6, Zimmer / Room 402 16.00-18.00 
02.04.2009 Tarostraße 14, office Erdgeschoss / ground floor 19.00-20.30 

Wir freuen uns auf einen schönen Ausflug mit Euch Eure Doktorandeninitiative


Prag